InSEA  Historical Documents  are stored in  Yorkshire

The Society’s archives are housed at the National Arts Education Archive (NAEA) at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park in the United Kingdom. The NAEA provides a unique resource for the benefit of the general public, students and researchers.  It was established 30 years ago to preserve documentary evidence of the development of arts education both by collecting children’s work and the papers, letters and works of key educators and artists.  There are 120 collections including the development of Child Art, Basic Design and Art, Craft and Design Technology and Graphic Design in schools and colleges. A list of these collections can be had by contacting Leonard Bartle, the Centre Administrator and Custodian.Included in this list are records, journals and minutes of the Art Teacher’s Guild 1902 to 1936, the Society for Education in Art 1929 to 1941 and the Society for Education through Art (SEA) from 1959, the publications of the National Society for Art Education (NSAE) and from 1985 the National Society for Education in Art and Design (NSEAD).The extensive INSEA collection is partly catalogued and includes papers and letters, journals, etc, generated by past World Presidents of the Society from the 1950s, including Ziegfeld, Hipwell and Eisner.  These documents were donated by former InSEA archivist, Jane Rhoades-Hudak.  Additionally there is a collection donated by former president Brian Allison. In 2013 another former president, John Steers, donated a further set of INSEA papers (1980s and 1990s), none of which are yet catalogued.Access to the collections is by appointment only and the Archive is open Mondays and Tuesdays from 9.00am to 5.00pm.  The location is: The Lawrence Batley Centre, Yorkshire Sculpture Park, West Bretton, Wakefield WF4 4LG.

First InSEA - click to enlarge photo

First InSEA, 1956
Upper group, left to right: Emil Betzler (Germany); M. P. Alladin (Trinidad, British West Indies); Rikard Sneum (Denmark); Dr. M. Y. Bassiouny (Egypt); A. Kroonenber (the Netherlands); G. J. van Koppenhagen (the Netherlands); Osamu Muro (Japan).

Lower group, left to right: Ap Boerma (the Netherlands); Mme. Kamala Coelho-Veloso (Portugal); Dr. Carlo Leoni, INSEA Secretariat (Italy); Dr. C. D. Gaitskell (Canada); Mile. Henriette Noyer (France), Secretary; Dr. Edwin Ziegfeld, InSEA President (U.S.A.);

Insea World Congress, 1981

 see more at